The works of Simplestroke

I came across this amazing artist’s website while trying to google the standard english translation for a book on Joe Hisaishi (related to Rob’s thesis). I was looking at hir’s commissioned illustration of Hisaishi and puttering around the website when it struck me how familiar hir’s work was, and that I’d definitely seen something like it around somewhere. Apparently, the artist does extensive work with Pixar and also organized the Totoro Forest Project, which I was absolutely in love with the last time I hopped by the Cartoon Art Museum in San Francisco. Seeing all these brilliant watercolor images really makes me want to break open the ol’ sketchbook again and start experimenting with figures. Bold colors and simplified shapes are drool-worthy.

Anyway, what I wanted to share with all of you was this slideshow that the artist calls a “modest step-by-step demonstration to share my approach”.

2 thoughts on “The works of Simplestroke

Leave a Reply

