Far East twinkie

These fluffy clouds of sponge cake aren’t like any old twinkie – they’re filled with fresh banana custard and have a 1 week expiration date. I’ve been addicted to them since my study abroad program in Japan 2 years ago and they aren’t available anywhere outside of Japan. Thankfully,  I convinced L. to bring back some for me from  her trip to Tokyo!

Unlike Twinkies, which have a reputation for being the kind of a gross, cheap snack you’d be likely to buy at a 7-11 or a rest stop, Tokyo Bananas come in neatly packaged boxes of 12 or so that you can find at major souvenir shops around Tokyo (although Leana had some difficulty). Distribution is limited so you can’t get these anywhere else, for example, at a supermarket or food mart.

I came across these babies while backpacking Tokyo with some friends and we were trying to find some good omiyages to bring back to the homestay in Kyoto. It’s customary to bring back some snacks/souvenirs whenever you travel abroad, and this time I was looking for some snacks to bring back for the half-dozen grandkids at my home stay. The store owner told me that these are by far the best sellers. And oh my god he was right. This is like crack for a Japanese kid.

Unfortunately, I only got to share these with a few people before my dad discovered where I was hiding them. He ate all 8 of the remaining cakes. At least he enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

