I rediscover: Stroopwafels

So my mom left a box of Daelmans Stroopwafels on the coffee table over the weekend. Big mistake, mom. Big.

Needless to say, I snatched that box right up (she wasn’t going to eat it) and brought it to share at R’s house in Brooklyn.

After a bit of investigation, I found out that unlike the stroopwafels I used to buy from the campus store, these were the real deal. Firstly, Daelmans are imported from Holland. And secondly, they are made with real eggs and butter, in comparison to Shady Maple Farms, a more commonly found US producer that uses all-vegan ingredients. The real deal cookies were unsurprisingly much, much better. Crispy on the outside, buttery and rich on the inside, there is just no comparison.

Satisfied with my discovery in hand, I nibbled my wafel over a bit of hot tea. Perfect for a winter evening. Check out Discover Holland for a neat little image gallery featuring how these cookies are made.

The heat and steam melts the caramel filling, leaving a crispy top and chewy middle in every bite. A very nice snack on a winter night.

Leave a Reply

