Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken pot pie with drop biscuit dough

I had originally intended to make some Matzo Ball soup after a late-night, post-dance trip to b.o.b bar last Friday. Suffice to say, I couldn’t find any matzo meal and instead opted for a simple chicken soup. That ended up being too unchallenging (celery, carrots onion in a slow cooker with a quartered chicken), so to complicate things up a bit, I took a couple of cups of broth, shredded left over chicken removed from the soup, and whipped up a quick chicken pot pie.

To make it, I sauteed some chopped celery, carrots, onion, and garlic. Then I added some of the chicken broth I just made, shredded some leftover chicken, some milk, and carefully dissolved some flour to thicken the sauce up. I seasoned it with salt and pepper, and then set the sauce aside. Time for the biscuit dough. Taking a half cup of whole wheat flour, half as much regular flour, 2 tbsp olive oil, 3 tbsp butter (I used chive compound butter that I made from R’s garden), salt, pepper, and enough buttermilk (or milk + a bit of vinegar) to bring the dough together. Set the sauce in a casserole dish and plop balls of dough over it. Let it bake in an oven set to 375 degrees. The dough will expand in the oven and turn golden brown when ready.

All in all, it took  me about an hour from start to finish.

Leave a Reply

