Kabocha hummus… truffled up!

Not the prettiest photo, but it’ll do. I can’t find my SD card, which means photobooth pics for y’all today. I promise this recipe is really good though, so don’t judge a book by its mediocre cover!

This recipe is based off of one from Tasting Table.

I had half a kabocha squash from the kabocha tres leches recipe so I roasted that in a 400 degree oven for half an hour, then scooped the insides out from the rind. This I found to still be a bit under-caramelized so in the future, I could see making a better and more flavorful pumpkin filling by turning it into a pumpkin butter. All that would mean is setting it in the slow cooker for several hours on low.

THEN comes for a helluva lot of roasted garlic. I didn’t want to use the oven to roast such a tiny little thing for 40 minutes so I found this awesome neat trick on the internet (use it! it works!):

To quick-roast garlic, take off the outermost layer of papery skin off of a bunch of garlic, leaving just the skin on the individual cloves. Push it all into a dry saucepan set over a medium-low flame and cover to toast it for 10 minutes, shaking periodically. They’re ready to take off the stove when the papery skin should start getting really nice and brown. Delicious! And remarkably easy, in 1/4th the time. Feel free to pat your back at this point and celebrate with a glass of juice, like I did (or wish I did, I haven’t gotten groceries and only had water).

Anyway, you’ve got your roasted garlic so take that and your prepared kabocha filling and put in the food processor, along with a can of rinsed and drained chickpeas, two heaping tablespoons of tahini, salt, pepper, and a dash of red pepper. Mix!

I was going to try to add lemon juice but we didn’t have any. Prepared for everything to go downhill taste-wise, I took a risk and added some truffle oil – something I’d done in a different recipe with miso-glazed broiled kabocha. Best. Decision. Ever.

So there you go. Really really good stuff. Eat it with zucchini sticks or something. I would.

Leave a Reply

