Creamy tomato soup

This soup gets better with age. I should’ve made this a couple days in advance of my birthday party/NYE pre-party but I was making a huge batch.

The recipe based off of one from the Splendid Table podcast. Its a good recipe but I adjusted it because if I’m making a soup then I add a shit ton of things just because I can.

In general:

  • Saute garlic,  diced onion 1 diced bell pepper, 2 diced carrots until the onion and veggies are more or less cooked (onion is translucent).
  • Add 1 large can of whole plum tomatoes, 1 cup water, 1 cup heavy cream, salt, pepper, a large pinch each of of red pepper flakes, oregano, and celery seed and bring to a boil. Then reduce the heat and let it boil for a minimum of 15 minutes.
  • Blend it up with a handy dandy stick blender, like the awesome Cuisinart one I got for Christmas, and taste. Adjust your seasonings and and if its still acidic, add a tbs of sugar and/or cream.
IMG_8201

Ate with sautéed leftover xmas ham from R.s and grilled cheese sandwiches made from David M.’s whole wheat sandwich bread plus extra sharp cheddar cheese.

I’ll be making this in big batches again and storing it in the giant jar that used to hold my kimchi. It’ll be my go-to dinner when I’m feeling too tired to cook.

Leave a Reply

