More Banana Cream Pie!

Expect lots of posts in the coming weeks, I’m in the process of updating the blog before my big vacation this Wednesday.

It’s been a pretty tight month so far – its no surprise to those who try to meet up with me that time is always in short supply. I’ve been fixing things at work, trying to wrap up loose ends at my volunteering gig, and also planning for my incredible, last-minute, extended 3 week vacation to China with R. While I could be super bitter about not being able to do everything I want to do before leaving, I’ve realized that I just have to take that bitterness and swallow it like a bitter dark chocolate.

Or more like, bittersweet dark chocolate ganache, salted caramel banana cream pie.

Yes, yes, yes, I made that recipe just a couple of weeks ago. But it got chomped pretty quickly and I slightly regretted giving over 1/3 of it to R’s roommates when I inspected my empty fridge shortly afterwards.

Luckily, I was able to fit in another round of this pie recently. The photos are much better this time around.

IMG_8902

Nilla wafer and butter crust.

IMG_8905

Dark chocolate ganache spread over the crust. Actually, this is ‘fake’ cheaty ganache- – just dark chocolate cocoa powder, heavy cream, and some sugar.

IMG_8907

BA-NA-NAs!

IMG_8910

melted and salted caramel sauce.

IMG_8913

IMG_8915

Drizzle

IMG_8917

Drizzle Drizzle

IMG_8918

Folding whipped cream into Byrd’s custard powder-ed custard.

IMG_8927

Pomelo McBunny helps out.


IMG_8919 IMG_8920 IMG_8921 IMG_8928 IMG_8930 IMG_8933 IMG_8934

Leave a Reply

