Matzo ball soup and healthy eating

 

What do I eat on a daily basis? Not steaks, double chocolate tortes, and almond-crusted plum cakes, sadly.

Luckily for me, I work at a school where lunches are pretty well catered. So I eat a lot of veggies and a little protein for lunch and then a lot again for second lunch which I’ve timed to be just before I head out of work. Then I’m usually off to a fellowship meeting, a volunteering event, out with friends, or R. is cooking me dinner.

On the days I get home on time, I’m eating a ton of homey soups and homey Chinese food that remind of me home. Recently because of the cold weather its mostly kimchi-based soups and things I can make in a slow cooker. This recipe for homemade matzo ball soup from scratch is an example of the latter. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pckg of 3 chicken thighs
  • 3 stems of celery
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 yellow onion 
  • Fresh parsley
  • Bay leaf
  • Salt, pepper, thyme to taste. 

Instructions:

Chop celery, carrots, onion, and parsley. Combine all ingredients and slow cook on low for 4 hours or more. Meanwhile, make your matzoh balls according to the packaging instructions at least 1 hour in advance. When you’re ready, ladle some chicken broth into a small sauce pan and cook your matzoh balls in broth quickly. It should be ready within a 3-5 minutes.  

END OF INSTRUCTIONS. A 4 qt slowcooker makes enough broth to stock me up for a week’s worth of dinners. If you want to make quick dinners, soups you can easily make in bulk and store in the fridge are awesome bases to build your dinner on.  

Image

Image

 

Also, on the subject of healthy eating, spaghetti squash is not only healthy and delicious,  but also fun as hell.
How to make it? Half the squash, brush with olive oil, and roast in a 400 degree oven. Scoop and toss with more olive oil, salt, pepper, parmesan, chopped parsley and a pinch of chili flakes. 

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

